A somber day

image
a somber day

 

It is a somber day in Ithaca and the surrounding area.  It rained a heavy rain and the clouds settled in – a dark blanket over a liberal town in the wake of the election.

It is a day when my husband says: Now would be a good time for the aliens to invade.  

And while Obama pointed out the sun would come out tomorrow,  it did not even peak through the clouds here.

I keep thinking of the people I knew who fought, or lived, through World War II, or escaped Germany before it was too late.  They are on my mind tonight.  “What would they say?”

I also keep thinking of our system of education and that adage, “Only the educated are free.”  If 50 percent of the electorate really knew what the ramifications could possibly be based on all of the factors that have been spewn into our orbit, if they asked why? how? would they really think they made the best choice?

Tomorrow is Thursday and I hope the sun does come up, at least for a little while.  The road ahead is going to be tough, we will need to see clearly to prepare for the journey. ©claireaperez@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “A somber day”

Comments are closed.