Baseball

I loved writing this…I like to re blog it this time of year.

itsaboutthestory.wordpress.com

play-ball play-ball: painter and information can be found by play-ball 

play-ball  “it is the bottom of the ninth the bases are loaded and …”

 the music would play, the action would begin, in the 1960s on the black and white TV.  I am reading the book Underworld by Don DeLillo and the first section took me to a 1950s baseball game.  They were there, the adults of my 60s childhood:  Frank Sinatra, J. Edgar Hoover, and Jackie Gleason, at that one game.

The crowd moves with the action of the game as does the city, the nation, recorded in real-time, live on the radio, live in those pages.  There is no internet, there is no buzz, there is no one in the seats watching on the big screen overhead or on their iPhone, there is no one twittering about the beer that Jackie’s guzzling.

Real time, one pitch, one ball at a time.  And the…

View original post 544 more words