Bee balm and Facebook in the mist

bee balm unedited
bee balm unedited

I took this photograph in the summer, surrounded by bee balm

today I tried to make something of it that represents how Facebook can feel

to me

lovely in its color, but distorted, liquified, watered down

not quite true, as if all the world really existed like it does on Facebook

and then of course, ephemeral,

gone, like the bee balm with nothing to show

except that moment of excitement with a liked post, a beautiful pic of family,

a message from a friend thousands of miles away

or

the parties I have not been invited to

or weddings I could not attend due to whatever

and all the delicious recipes I don’t have time to make

…this is my reminder to turn the volume down Facebook, to call a friend, have a party, and bake.

 

Beebalm 2014
Beebalm 2014

2 thoughts on “Bee balm and Facebook in the mist”

Comments are closed.