Poetry Month

Oprah has dedicated her current issue to poetry http://www.oprah.com/packages/the-power-ofpoetry.html

and so I am posting the poem Trees by Joyce Kilmer.  This remains my favorite poem and Mrs. Jordan made me memorize it and recite it to our fifth grade class at Hendy Avenue School.  I never looked at trees or poems the same again.  Go Mrs. Jordan wherever you are.



Tree tops in summer
Tree tops in summer

bu Joyce Kilmer

I think that I shall never see a poem as lovely as a tree

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest, Against the sweet earth’s flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day, And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear, A next of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain; Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me, But only God can make a tree.

author:  Joyce Kilmer

One thought on “Poetry Month”

Comments are closed.