it'saboutthestory

your story, history, her story, their story

my dream of living on a farm and today

Tomatoes and basil from the garden 2010

Tomatoes and basil from the garden 2010

when I was little, we read a little story about Dick and Jane and their life on the farm.  I dreamed from that moment on of living on a farm…I remember Jane in her little red dress fetching the eggs from the barn for  breakfast.  But most of all I remember the sunshine and the green land and thinking how great it would be to live so close to nature.

We lived in the suburbs, the closest description I can come to my hometown of Elmira.  For the first 30 years or so of my life, the green I perpetually saw: a golf course.

When I moved here, to the country, which my husband says really isn’t the country but exhurbia, I did not know what I was getting myself into but gosh darn I was delighted, my childhood dream come true.  I’m going to focus on this for a few blog posts or actually, I’m going to focus on my gratitude for being here coupled with my dream of a simpler life.  I’m hoping in my writing I’ll be able to come to some conclusions or some peace about being a reluctant country gal.

@claireaperez.gmail.com

Note about the photograph:  we were happy with our crop of tomatoes in 2010 because the year before we had a blight and had practically no crop.  There is nothing like a homegrown tomato with basil leaves  and olive oil.

February 22, 2013 - Posted by | Country living inspired Ithaca, Photos | ,

4 Comments

  1. I hit “save images” and all of the sudden I can see all the tomatoes. I always wanted to grow up and have a lot of land. The only place I do have extra acreage is in Canada. You’ve definitely started with a topic you can blog about for awhile.

    Comment by Kathryn Mapes ithacalansing tales past and present | February 22, 2013

    • Kathy…I think the vision is wonderful, it is the hard work it takes that is beyond me. My husband seems to do it effortlessly, never complains, just embraces it.

      Comment by claireaperez | February 24, 2013

  2. I’m trying to grow a tomato on my porch. Hope it works!

    Comment by sweetofstyle | February 24, 2013

    • Quiet…go for it, nothing like touching a little earth.
      Your puppy may want to dig in the soil however:-)

      Comment by claireaperez | February 24, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

